Cooperation background

IMPILO and Austria have been cooperating since 2001 and EfKÖ has been supervising adoptions from South Africa since 2008.
In Austria, there currently are more than 100 adoption families with 130 adoptive children originating from South Africa.

New bases of cooperation since January 2013

At this point, the EfKÖ team would like to express their gratitude for the cooperation with the central authorities of Austria that have made this arrangement possible:

  • the Vienna department for adoptive and foster children (Dipl. Soz. Arb. M. Reichl-Roßbacher, Dipl. Soz. Arb. S. Pospisil)
  • the Land government of Lower Austria (Dipl. Soz. Arb. I. Vasik)
  • the Federal Ministry of Justice (Mag.a. V. Strasser, Mag.a. Ch. Miklau, Mag.a. R. Pillitsch)

The Hague Convention on Protection of Children and Co-operation in Respect of Intercountry Adoption

In Austria, the Hague Convention on Protection of Children and Co-operation in Respect of Intercountry Adoption has been in force since 1 September 1999, and in South Africa since 1 December 2003.

The Hague Convention on Protection of Children and Co-operation in Respect of Intercountry Adoption of 29 May 1993 is an important instrument in order to prevent corruption and child trafficking and ensures that all contracting states act accordingly.

The Hague Convention provides that all acceded states list certain authorities (so called “central authorities”) that are responsible for tasks regarding intercountry adoptions. In Austria, there is a central authority in every state as well as in the Federal Ministry of Justice.

Furthermore, these authorities can delegate certain tasks to private organisations and associations which are called “accredited bodies”. The “Eltern für Kinder Österreich” association is one of these accredited bodies, according to Article 13 of the Hague Convention. The tasks consist of supervision before, during and after an intercountry adoption. IMPILO is the accredited body of South Africa and was authorised for intercountry adoptions to Austria.

One important directive of the Hague Convention is the principle of subsidiarity, according to which offers for family assistance have to be accepted in the country of origin; thus, the child in question should be taken care of by a foster or adoptive family in his or her home country. Only if this does not work out it is permitted to look for adoptive parents abroad.

Convention between the accredited bodies IMPILO (South Africa) and EfKÖ (Austria)

Besides the Hague Convention regulations concerning cooperation of the central authorities of both countries, it is required by South African law that adoption applicants are supported and supervised by the bodies that were accredited in both countries.

Hence, a cooperation convention between the accredited bodies IMPILO (South Africa) and EfKÖ (Austria) was concluded. In the framework of this convention, the tasks and competences on both sides are regulated with practical orientation.

Convention concluded between the central authorities of Austria and South Africa

The cooperation of both countries was signed by the central authority in Pretoria (South Africa) und the central authorities of Vienna (Department for adoption and foster care) and of Lower Austria (bureau of the Land government of Lower Austria). As the third state of Austria, the bureau of the Vorarlberg Land government signed the convention in 2014. Hence, only adoptive applicants from these three states can be supervised.

In South Africa: Children’s Act

In South Africa, the “Children’s Act” forms the legal basis; it is an act that was written in 2005 and amended by the “Children’s amendment act” in 2007. It entered into force on 1 April 2010.

 <Back

Vorgeschichte der Zusammenarbeit

Die Zusammenarbeit zwischen IMPILO und Österreich existiert seit 2001, seit dem Jahr 2008 ist EfKÖ in der Begleitung von Adoptionen aus Südafrika tätig.
 In Österreich gibt es eine Gruppe von Adoptivfamilien mit Adoptivkindern aus Südafrika, die bereits mehr als 100 Familien mit 130 Kindern umfasst.

Neue Grundlagen der Zusammenarbeit seit Jänner 2013

Das Team von EfKÖ möchte sich an dieser Stelle für die unterstützende Zusammenarbeit mit den österreichischen Zentralen Behörden bedanken,  die dieses Abkommen möglich gemacht haben:

  • das Wiener „Referat für Adoptiv- und Pflegeeltern“ (Dipl. Soz. Arb. M. Reichl-Roßbacher, Dipl. Soz. Arb. S. Pospisil)
  • die niederösterreichische Landesregierung (Dipl. Soz. Arb. I. Vasik)
  • das Justizministerium (Mag.a. V. Strasser, Mag.a. Ch. Miklau, Mag.a. R. Pillitsch)

Das Haager „Übereinkommen über den Schutz von Kindern und die Zusammenarbeit auf dem Gebiet der internationalen Adoption”

Das Haager „Übereinkommen über den Schutz von Kindern und die Zusammenarbeit auf dem Gebiet der internationalen Adoption“ ist in Österreich seit 1.9.1999, in Südafrika seit 1.12.2003 in Kraft.

Das Haager „Übereinkommen über den Schutz von Kindern und die Zusammenarbeit auf dem Gebiet der internationalen Adoption“ vom 29. Mai 1993 ist ein wichtiges Instrument zur Vermeidung von Korruption und Kinderhandel und sichert einen professionellen Umgang aller beigetretenen Staaten.

Das Haager Übereinkommen sieht vor, dass alle beigetretenen Staaten bestimmte Behörden, so genannte „Zentrale Behörden“, (engl. „Central authorities“) nennen, die für die Aufgaben der internationalen Adoption zuständig sind. Österreich hat für jedes Bundesland eine eigene zentrale Behörde und eine weitere im Justizministerium.

Darüber hinaus können diese Behörden bestimmte Aufgaben an private Organisationen und Vereine delegieren; diese werden dann „zugelassene Organisationen“ (engl. „accredited bodies“) genannt. Der Verein „Eltern für Kinder Österreich“ ist „Zugelassene Organisation“ nach Art. 13 der Haager Konvention. Aufgaben sind die Begleitung vor, während und nach einer internationalen Adoption. Impilo heißt der in Südafrika ,,accredited body”, der für internationale Adoptionen nach Österreich zugelassen wurde.

Eine wichtige Richtlinie des Haager Übereinkommens ist das Subsidiaritätsprinzip. Es bedeutet, dass Hilfsangebote für Familien im Herkunftsland ausgeschöpft werden müssen und als nächster Schritt das Kind bei einer Pflege- oder Adoptivfamilie im eigenen Land Aufnahme finden soll. Erst wenn dies nicht gelingt, dürfen für ein Kind Adoptiveltern in einem anderen Land gesucht werden.

Abkommen zwischen den zugelassenen Organisationen IMPILO (Südafrika) und EfKÖ (Österreich)

Über die unter dem Haager ,,Übereinkommen über den Schutz von Kindern und die Zusammenarbeit auf dem Gebiet der internationalen Adoption” geregelten Zusammenarbeit der Zentralen Behörden der beiden Länder hinaus schreibt Südafrika zwingend vor, dass die Betreuung der Adoptivwerber*innen in beiden Ländern von zugelassenen Organisationen übernommen wird.
Daher wurde ein Arbeitsübereinkommen zwischen den beiden zugelassenen Organisationen IMPILO (Südafrika) und EfKÖ (Österreich) geschlossen. In diesem Übereinkommen werden die Arbeitsaufgaben und Zuständigkeiten auf beiden Seiten praxisnah geregelt.

Abkommen zwischen zentralen Behörden Österreich und Südafrika

Die Zusammenarbeit der beiden Länder und der beiden Vereine wurde durch die zentrale Behörde in Pretoria (Südafrika) und die zentralen Behörden in Wien (Referat für Adoption und Pflege) und in Niederösterreich (Amt der niederösterreichischen Landesregierung) unterschrieben. Das Amt der Vorarlbergischen Landesregierung unterzeichnete im Jahr 2014 als drittes Bundesland in Österreich das Abkommen.
 Es ist daher eine Begleitung von Adoptivwerber*innen nur aus diesen drei Bundesländern möglich.

In Südafrika: Children’s Act

Gesetzliche Grundlage bildet in Südafrika der „Children’s Act“; ein Gesetz, das 2005 geschrieben, 2007 durch den „Children’s amendment act“ ergänzt und am 1. April 2010 in Kraft getreten ist.

< Zurück